You are here

2020 BB Dems Board Election!

Please join the BB Dems on Thursday, January 16th, 2020 from 6:30pm-8:30pm at our new primary meeting location, the Bloomfield Township Hall, located at 4200 Telegraph Road in Bloomfield Township as we hold our annual Executive Board election.

Note that while the January meeting will be held on a Thursday, after that our normal monthly meetings will move to the 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Township hall, although this may vary for specific meetings.

The current BB Dems Executive Board members are:

  • Chair: Charles Gaba
  • Vice-Chair: Christine Jensen
  • Treasurer: Gail Whitty
  • Recording Secretary: Martin Brook
  • Corresponding Secretary: Nicole Bedi
  • Trustee: Corinne Shoop
  • Trustee: Lori Goldman

As of this writing, Gaba, Whitty and Bedi are all running for another 1-year term, and Corinne Shoop is running to replace Jensen as Vice-Chair. 

Christine Jensen is stepping down as Vice-Chair, as her duties as Executive Director of the MDP & 1st Vice-Chair of the OCDP are expected to occupy too much of her time in 2020. Martin Brook is stepping down as Recording Secretary in order to focus on his campaign for Bloomfield Township Clerk. Lori Goldman is stepping down as Trustee to focus on her work with Fems for Dems and other activist groups.

Corinne Shoop is running to replace Christine as Vice-Chair, and two other BB Dems members have expressed interest in running for the newly-opened Trustee positions.

If you're interested in being elected to the board as either an executive member or a trustee, please make sure to use the contact form to let me know of your interest no later than January 15th, 2020.

In order to serve on the board, aside from the responsibilities of the executive members, you have to be willing to attend at least 3 meetings per year, will be responsible for planning/implementing one meeting per year and obviously helping out with campaigns.

In order to vote on the executive board positions, you do have to have paid your 2020 BB Dems dues before or at the meeting.

Happy holidays and we look forward to seeing you on January 16th!