Minutes

September 19, 2023, Birmingham Bloomfield Area Democratic Club Bloomfield Township Hall

Call to order by the Chair 7:00pm/Roll Call of Officers

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Debbie Rosenman. Officers present include: Debbie Rosenman (Chair), Libby Dzurka (Treasurer), Andrew Corey (Recording Secretary), Corinne Shoop (Trustee),

Approval of Agenda: Discussion (Passed)

Approval of Minutes: Discussion (Passed)

Report of the Chair:

Tonight is a big night for our club with such highly regarded speakers and we are delighted that you are all here. It is coincidental that we are talking about elections on National Voter Registration Day. I want to thank those who might be new to our meetings. We welcome you and hope you will become regular attendees. 2024 is just around the corner and we want to be sure everyone is ready to work hard to bring big wins to our communities, our state and the country.

We do have local elections in some of our municipalities this November. In Birmingham, we have four candidates running for four positions on the city commission so we will not be making any recommendations. We do have four candidates for the three positions on the Birmingham Library Board. Once our board discusses their questionnaires, we will make a recommendation in that race. However, we are not weighing in on the two proposals in Birmingham, one which slightly increases the senior millage and the other allowing one medical and one recreational marijuana facility in Birmingham. In the city of Bloomfield Hills, there are five candidates running uncontested for the five positions on the city commission. For those who live in the Bloomfield Hills School District, there is a proposal to continue their building and site sinking fund millage to make improvements and repairs to the school district facilities. If anyone wants to speak about these proposals during our Good and Welfare portion at the end of our meeting, please feel free.

Allen Wolf gave the following PD Committee Report:

Given the information that Debbie just presented, there is not much PDs are required to do at the moment.

There is some very good training offered by DPDOC which I encourage PDs to take advantage of. For example, last night a few of our PDs attended a session on Voter Protection conducted by Tom Luckett, who is the new head of Voter Protection for MDP.

We have two volunteer opportunities that I encourage everyone to help with:

- 1. Shadia Martini canvassing in House District 54. Concentrating on Auburn Hills on Sundays. Go to Votemartini.com.
- 2. We need PDs for 2024 both in our club and throughout Oakland County. I am leading a county-wide effort for DPDOC on recruiting through texting. See me if you would like to volunteer.

New Business:

Chairperson Debbie Rosenman introduced Michigan Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson.

Chairperson Debbie Rosenman introduced State Sen. Jeremy Moss.

Chairperson Debbie Rosenman introduced Bloomfield Township Clerk Martin Brook. They all spoke about the changes to elections after the passage of Proposal 2 last year. They also answered questions.

Then Jamie Lyons-Eddy from Voters Not Politicians spoke about their current work.

Good and Welfare: Chair Debbie Rosenman invited folks to speak for Good and Welfare

Meeting next month is on Tuesday, October 17, 2023 at the Bloomfield Township Town Hall 4200 Telegraph Rd., with socializing at 6:30 p.m. Meeting starts at 7:00 p.m. with speakers Chris Chanko from Together for Us who will present on his new phone application, as well as Roslyn Ogburn from Michigan League of Conservation Voters, and Board member Corinne Shoop, who will speak about proposed changes to Club bylaws.

List of Members Present:

Doris Applebaum	Jaxson Kaplan-Rudolph
Linda Barclay	Steffi Keywell
Howard Baron	Jamie Lyons-Eddy
Jocelyn Benson	Matthew Mason
Barbara Borden	Jennifer Matlow
Martin Brook	Chloe McKenna
Margaret Brooks	Chris McKenna
Loren Brooks	Jeremy Moss
Rose Burke	Mindy Nathan
Christine Cairns	Terri O'Brien
Chris Chanko	Suzanne Plummer
Kevin Cumming	Debbie Quenaudon
George Dilgard	Dick Rappleye
Anita Ehrenfried	Rhonda Rhodes-Grant

Myles Rich Ben Esquival Michael Fayz Judy Robinson Nessa Feller **Kathy Ross** David Field Janet Schenk Maureen Field **Bridget Schipper** Wendy Friedman Pat Sheren Charles Gaba Matt Sheppard Debra Gerring Isaac Shore

Jean Goddard Frederick Gene Simms

Dave Goodman Craig Spangler

Alyson Grigsby Carolina Toro-Roman

Sandy Hansell Deborah Wahl Eileen Harryvan Dani Walsh

Maria Harris (?) Pauline Whitworth Smith

Carol Hayford Paula Williamson

Allen Wolf Cathy Heller

Lisa Hicks-Clayton Brandon Yarsike Elaine Higden Samantha Yarsike **Anne Honhart** Linda Zlotoff

Teresa Honnold Connie Zorn

68 +4 Board members = 72 attendees.

Motion to adjourn. Adjourned, 8:25 p.m.

Duly Submitted,

Andrew Corey

Recording Secretary