Minutes

August 15, 2023, Birmingham Bloomfield Democratic Club Beverly Park

Call to order by the Chair 7:00pm/Roll Call of Officers

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Debbie Rosenman. Officers present include: Debbie Rosenman (Chair), Emery Pence (Vice Chair), Andrew Corey (Recording Secretary), Libby Dzurka (Treasurer), Cynthia Shaw (Corresponding Secretary), Corinne Shoop (Trustee), Juergen Wiesenberger (Trustee).

Approval of Agenda: Discussion (Passed)

Approval of Minutes: Discussion (Passed)

Report of the Chair, Debbie Rosenman

So happy to see all of you here on this summer evening!

It is great to see many familiar faces, but we want to welcome the new folks as well. Thanks for joining us tonight.

First of all, I want to invite anyone who is interested to come to the annual Phil Hart Dinner on Sunday, September 10th at the Somerset Inn in Troy. Each year, notable Democrats are featured as keynote speakers at this special Oakland County event. Congresswoman Stacey E. Plaskett of the U.S. Virgin Islands is this year's keynote speaker. Congresswoman Plaskett is a leader in progressive politics and was appointed as one of nine House Impeachment Managers during Donald Trump's prosecution in the U.S. Senate in 2021. Our club will have a few sponsored tables with the discounted price of \$125 a ticket. We'd love to have you join us. Let me know by this Friday if you want to reserve one of our discounted seats. We will be purchasing them together from the club.

My next announcement is about upcoming municipal elections. Both Birmingham and Bloomfield Hills will be holding elections for their city commissioners. In both cities, the number of candidates running is the same as the number of seats, so there will not be contested elections. However, there are four candidates running for three seats on the Birmingham Library Board. We will be looking into these candidates to make a recommendation of those we think should be supported. Remember that Library Boards, in these times, are more important than ever.

Perhaps you saw our club walking with our banner in the Birmingham and Beverly Hills Parades this spring. We will also be walking this year in the Franklin Parade on Labor Day. Please join us! The sign up is at the check in table or let me know.

Keep an eye out for our email newsletters coming out every two weeks. There is a lot of information about upcoming events around town and I hope you find them useful.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Libby Dzurka gave the Treasurer's Report to those present and reminded members to pay their dues.

Committee Reports:

Emery Pence gave the Political Influencers (formerly the Postcard committee) Report. **You pick what you want to do** re: emailing, calling or writing the suggested lawmakers. He also spoke about our high school internship program.

Allen Wolf gave the PD Committee Report. PD slots are being refilled. Please let us know if you want to join us! PAC money is appreciated as it will help fund our election activities.

New Business:

-State Senator Mallory McMorrow and Congresswoman Haley Stevens addressed the crowd, speaking on state legislative issues as well as Congressional issues.

Good and Welfare: Chair Debbie Rosenman opened discussion for Good and Welfare.

- Adrienne Young introduced herself as a candidate in 2024 for Court of Appeals. She is seeking signatures on Nominating Petitions.
- Maxine Mondshine announced she is collecting Nominating Petition signatures for Elissa Slotkin.
- Terri O'Brien solicited volunteers to help with voter registration with Field Team 6.
- Charles Gaba spoke about candidate fundraising.

Our meeting next month is on Tuesday, September 19th at the Bloomfield Township Hall at 4200 Telegraph Road at 7:00 p.m. with socializing starting at 6:30. Speakers include Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, State Senator Jeremy Moss, Bloomfield Township Clerk Martin C. Brook, and Jamie Lyons-Eddy from Voters Not Politicians.

Motion to adjourn. Adjourned, 8:20 p.m.

Duly Submitted,

Andrew Corey
Recording Secretary

List of Attendees (See below)

Terri Asbell

Linda Barclay

Prashanth Balusu

Howard Baron

Nancy Barnett

Nancy Bliss

Evan Brook

N. Brook

Martin Brook

Margaret Brooks

Brian Cahalan

Jeff Cahalan

Charlie Cavell

Chris Chanko

Elizabeth Cook

Mike Corbin

Martha Coyne

Kevin Cumming

George Dilgard

Emily Eccleton

Michael C. Fayz

David Field

Maureen Field

Charles Gaba & son

Lori Goldman

Sandy Hansell

Anne Honhart & niece

Pat Hultman

Jaxson Kaplan-Rudolph

Hass Khalife

Katie Kirkpatrick

Joyce Laszczak

Larry Lipton

Roger Mahanic

Maria Marcotte

Shadia Martini

Jennifer Matlow

Mary Ann McDermott

Steve McDermott

Mimi Miletic

Mallory McMorrow

Maxine Mondshine

Val Murray

Terri O'Brien

Ryan Olds

John Owens

Lisa Peers

Linda Pence

Eve Pickman

Natalie Price

Alon Rosenman

Andy Ross

Sharon Roy

Robert Segal

Isaac Shore

Haley Stevens

Marti Szilagyi

Tarik Taskin

Sheila Thornton

Scott Thornton

Amy Voigt

Jeff Voigt

Laura Wade

Deborah Wahl

Adrienne Wann

Gail Whitty

Mike Whitty

Jill Wiesenberger

Allen Wolf

Brandon Yarsike

Sam Yarsike

Adrienne Young

Keri Zhao

75 plus 7 board members = 82 TOTAL