Minutes for November 21, 2023, Birmingham Bloomfield Area Democratic Club Bloomfield Township Hall

Call to order by the Chair 7:00pm/Roll Call of Officers

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Debbie Rosenman. Officers present include: Debbie Rosenman (Chair), Emery Pence (Vice Chair), Libby Dzurka (Treasurer), Cynthia Shaw (Corresponding Secretary), Andrew Corey (Recording Secretary), Corinne Shoop (Trustee), Juergen Wiesenberger (Trustee).

Approval of Agenda: Discussion (Passed)

Approval of Minutes: Discussion (Passed)

Report of the Chair:

Chair Report for Tuesday, November 21, 2023

Before we get into tonight's agenda, I would like to say a few words about what is going on in the Middle East and its impact around the world including here.

We are Democrats. The situation in the Middle East is complex and there are no easy solutions.

We are concerned about justice, freedom and democracy. We mourn the loss of human life wherever and whenever that occurs. We oppose all forms of antisemitism and Islamophobia. We are all about uniting different people and bridging differences.

We cannot allow the horrific attack of Oct 7 or the aftermath to divide us as a Party. If anything, we should use this as an opportunity to recognize that we, as Americans, are more alike than we are different. Our diversity is what makes us strong. Let's look for common ground and celebrate the values that make our country great.

Please note that we have two actions you can take tonight to help support democracy.

First, you can write a postcard to President Biden to urge movement on the ERA-Equal Rights Amendment. See Emery in the back of the room to write a card that we will stamp and send for you.

Second, consider signing any of the nominating petitions we have in the back if you have not signed them yet. You will be hearing from several of the judicial candidates later during Good and Welfare.

In addition, at our Holiday Party on December 19th at the Birmingham Community House you will be able to pick up a pack of postcards to write for Shadia Martini, who we are strongly supporting for the House District 54 seat. Look for them there.

Thanks for your support!

Treasurer Libby Dzurka gave the Treasurer's Report.

Allen Wolf gave the PD Committee Report.

Emery Pence gave the Political Action Committee Report and the Student Intern Committee Report.

New Business:

Allen Wolf moved to accept the slate of Officers Debbie Rosenman (Chair), Emery Pence (Vice Chair), Libby Dzurka (Treasurer), Dave Goodman (Corresponding Secretary), Corinne Shoop (Recording Secretary), Nessa Feller (Trustee), Juergen Wiesenberger (Trustee) by acclamation. No other nominations. Seconded by Shadia Martini to move the slate. Passed by vote-card ballot.

The Club members voted on the changes to the Bylaws as announced during the October meeting and posted for the last month on our website. No objections. Vote called. Passed.

Chair Debbie Rosenman introduced Jim Nash, Oakland County Water Resource Commissioner to speak on the environment and issues pertaining to his Office.

Good and Welfare:

Nicole Huddleston spoke to the club about her campaign.

Amani Johnson spoke to the club about his campaign to replace Janet Jackson in Oakland County's 18th Commissioner's seat.

Robin Dillard-Russaw spoke to the club about her campaign to become Oakland County's 46th Circuit Court judge.

Moneka Sanford spoke to the club about her campaign to become Oakland County's 6th Circuit Court Judge.

Adrienne Nicole Young spoke to the club about her campaign to become State Appeals Court Judge.

In lieu of a meeting, we are having a Holiday Gathering next month on Tuesday, December 19th, 2023 at 6:30 pm at Birmingham Community House. Members are encouraged to pre-register on our Google Docs form.

Our January meeting is Jan. 16 with Oakland County Executive Dave Coulter.

Motion to adjourn. Adjourned, 8:20 p.m.

Duly Submitted,

Andrew Corey Recording Secretary List of Attendees: Lila Abraham Gerrie Barclay Rose Burke **Charlie Cavell** Chris Chanko **Robin Dillard** Ben Esquival Nessa Feller Dave Goodman Sandy Hansell Anne Honhart Nicole Huddleson Hollis Huthwaite Amani Johnson Matthew Kent Shadia Martini Jim Nash Fred Newton Terri O'Brien Linda Pence Monica Sanford Deborah Wahl Allen Wolf Adrienne Young Linda Zlotoff + 7 Board members = 32 attendees